Bug Life Cycle

A defect life cycle is the movement of a bug or defect in different stages of its lifetime, right from the beginning when it is first identified till the time is marked as verified and closed.
Depending on the defect management tool used and the organisation, we can have different states as well different nomenclature for the states in the defect life cycle.


  •  New – A bug or defect when detected is in New state.
  • Assigned – The newly detected bug when assigned to the corresponding developer is in Assigned state.
  • Open – When the developer works on the bug, the bug lies in Open state.
  • Rejected – A bug lies in rejected state in case the developer feels the bug is not genuine.
  • Deferred – A deferred bug is one, fix of which is deferred for some time(for the next releases) based on urgency and criticality of the bug.
  • Duplicate – If the bug is repeated twice or the two bugs mention the same concept of the bug, then the recent/latest bug status is changed to duplicate.
  • Fixed – When a bug is resolved by the developer it is marked as fixed and assigned to the tester.
  • Reopen – If the tester is not satisfied with issue resolution the bug is moved to Reopen state.
  • Retest: At this stage the tester do the retesting of the changed code which developer has given to him to check whether the defect got fixed or not
  • Close – After the bug is verified, it is moved to Close status.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s